The Department of Food Science and Nutrition (D.F.S.N.) was founded legally in February 21st, 2007 under the law No 35.  According to the foundation legislation it belongs in the scientific field of health sciences. D.F.S.N. started its operation in 2009, admitting its first student in October 2009.
The department of Food Science and Nutrition is the 17th Department of the University of The Aegean and the 1st in the Academic Unit of the island ofLemnos. The facilities of the department occupy four buildings (around 200 square metes each) located on the “Romeikos Yialos” in the city of Myrina at Lemnos.